Social Justice: Ending Racism

The Book Group

This FREE group offers a supportive place to learn about the invisible systemic patterns of racism that we as white people unknowingly participate in.

We are beginning with discussions of White Fragility: Why It’s so Hard for White People to Talk about Racism, by Robin Diangelo. Racism is more than individuals, or groups, being mean to other individuals or groups. White Fragility is a thoughtfully written book that explains white privilege clearly and describes how we can make effective changes.

We meet via Zoom for approximately one to one and a half hours, depending on the size of the group and discussion needs.

Our next meeting will be held Wednesday November 18th, 2020 at 3:00 PM Alaska Standard Time. If you are joining us from another time zone, the times are as follows: 4 pm PST, 5 pm MST, 6 pm CST, and 7 pm EST.

If you are interested in joining the group, please call Mary Sz at 907-500-5557 for more information. You can also email marysz@gci.net to receive the link for the Zoom meeting.

Fiction by Mary Szczepanski

A Path of Healing For the adolescent reader. The unusual story of a teen's perilous coming of age. Gear up with Megan, grouchy teenage rebel, healer in the making, & just a hair's breadth away from true disaster in the remote Alaska wilderness. Learn more...
In Juneau? Buy it from Mary
Get it from Amazon.com Kindle or print

Strands Shifting politics, global warming, & rapid social change across the globe set the stage for this futuristic tale. Take one young intuitive healer, add enhanced DNA, precocious friends & puzzled families. Mix well...if you can. This healer must remember where she came from to solve the riddle of her life. Learn more...
In Juneau? Buy it from Mary
Get it from Amazon.com Kindle or print